Scholarships, Fellowships & Prizes

These awards and prizes are administered by the College's Committee on Honors and announced at the annual Honors Assembly, traditionally held in late April. A student is nominated by the Department Faculty. Nomination for one award does not preclude a student's eligibility for others. However, no more than one candidate can be nominated for each award. Please note that the Baxter prize is for juniors. Award amounts vary from year to year depending on endowment income. Nomination deadline is usually the second Friday in March.

Requirements for I and II: nominations must be accompanied by at least two letters of recommendations from the Department Faculty, commenting on the nominee's academic achievement, personal attributes, and promise. (Relevant letters already on file in the Dean of Studies Office may be substituted.)

I. Fellowships and Scholarships:

  • Candidates must plan to enroll this fall in graduate or professional school of approved standing. Last year's graduates who will begin graduate or professional school this fall are also eligible, but they will be at a disadvantage if they are unavailable for a campus interview with the Committee on Honors;
  • Nominee must submit a one-page statement describing her primary interests and future plans. A list of extracurricular activities may be appended. Nominee may be interviewed by the Committee on Honors.

The Alpha Zeta Club Graduate Scholarship (1936) is awarded for promise of distinction in the pursuit of higher degrees. Particularly for students entering the professions, including law and health. (2009: three recipients, $1,200 each; 2010: $3,300 will be available.)

The George Welwood Murray Graduate Fellowship (1930) is awarded for promise of distinction in graduate study in the humanities or the social sciences. (2009: two recipients, $2,500 & $2,000; 2010: $4,200 will be available.)

II. Prizes: Graduate study is not required. Nominee will not be interviewed.

The Ann Barrow Hamilton Memorial Prize (1978) is awarded to a graduating senior who will pursue a career in journalism and who is judged to show the most promise of success in that field based on scholarship, writing ability, and desire to succeed. (2009: one recipient, $250; 2010: $500 will be available.)

The Katherine Reeve Girard Prize (1964) is awarded to a student (traditionally a senior) whose interests are in the international aspects of her major. (2009 one recipient, $300; 2010: $250 will be available.)

The Annette Kar Baxter Memorial Prize (1984) is awarded to a junior in any field who has distinguished herself in the study of some aspect of women's experience. A copy of the paper or project that led to the nomination must be submitted. (2009: one recipient, $900; 2010: $2,000 will be available.)

Columbia Political Science Prize

The Caroline Phelps Stokes Prize (1910) is administered by the Columbia Department of Political Science. Students are nominated by the Barnard or Columbia Faculty, usually by early April. Winning papers have traditionally been seminar papers involving considerable original research. There is no length requirement, but colloquium papers in the 25-page range are not likely to come out on top, unless truly exceptional.

Requirements:  the nominee's name should be submitted to the Director of Undergraduate Studies, currently Professor David Johnston. The essay, accompanied by a letter of recommendation from the Department Faculty, the student's permanent address and social security number, should be submitted to: Andres Zepeda, Department of Political Science, Columbia University, 736 International Affairs Building, Mailcode 3320.

The Caroline Phelps Stokes Prize is a $300 cash prize awarded to a student who has been a degree candidate at Barnard or Columbia College for at least one academic year and who has written the best essay in course or seminar work on any topic concerning human rights. Established in 1910 by the bequest of Caroline Phelps Stokes.

Background information on Caroline Phelps Stokes. (Search on her name.)

Updated February 27, 2014 by Anne Wolff-Lawson.