Awards, Honors & Grants

Please don't forget to learn about the many awards at Barnard, particularly those that require you to submit an application. The latter include the research & travel grants, the essay contests, and the scholarships & fellowships available through the Dean of Studies Office.

Some honors are awarded by the Department of Political Science; others, by committees at Barnard, such as the Committee on Honors (CoH), the PBK Committee, and the like. There are related links in the left menu and in the right margin. Here follow the awards that are administered by our department.

Distinction for the Senior Essay

The senior essay/thesis advisor and a second reader award a Pass with Distinction for an exceptional essay (thesis) written in the student's third and final colloquium. On average no more than 6% of senior essays have been so rewarded. (Note: a grade of "A" for the colloquium does not automatically confer distinction.)

Jolie Ermers Memorial Research Grant (2006)

This grant is awarded each fall and spring by the Department to a Barnard political science senior major who is seeking to defray travel expenses or conference fees related to the Political Science major. Please note that an application is required. Applications are accepted on a rolling basis.

Phoebe Morrison Memorial Prize (1969)

Upon recommendation of our department, the Morrison prize is awarded each May to a political science senior major planning to attend law school. The prize amount varies from year to year depending on endowment fund income. In 2014 it is funded at $241.

Political Science Quarterly Prize (2000)

The PSQ prize is awarded each semester by the Department to a Barnard political science major for excellence in analytical writing in public or international affairs in a paper that has been presented in colloquium work. At the end of the semester instructors each can nominate one essay written by a major in her or his colloquium. The nominated papers are judged by a faculty member. This $125-prize was established by Dr. Demetrios "Jim" Caraley on behalf of the Academy of Political Science.

Caroline Phelps Stokes Prize (1910)

The Stokes Prize is administered by the Columbia Department of Political Science. Students are nominated by the Barnard or Columbia Faculty, usually by early April. Winning papers have traditionally been seminar papers involving considerable original research. There is no length requirement, but colloquium papers in the 25-page range are not likely to come out on top, unless truly exceptional.
Requirements:  the nominee's name should be submitted to the Director of Undergraduate Studies, currently Professor David Chambliss Johnston. The essay, accompanied by a letter of recommendation from the Department Faculty, the student's permanent address and social security number, should be submitted to: Andres Zepeda, Department of Political Science, Columbia University, 736 International Affairs Building, Mailcode 3320. This $300 cash prize is awarded to a student who has been a degree candidate at Barnard or Columbia College for at least one academic year and who has written the best essay in course or seminar work on any topic concerning human rights. Established in 1910 by the bequest of Caroline Phelps Stokes. Background information on Caroline Phelps Stokes. (Search on her name.)

Updated March 7, 2014 by Anne Wolff-Lawson.